Hearing aids are one of the most common things people expect Medicare to cover and find out it doesn't. Original Medicare pays for some hearing tests, but not the hearing aids themselves. Since October 17, 2022, though, you can buy FDA-regulated hearing aids over the counter, without a prescription or a fitting appointment, which HearingTracker says can make hearing care more affordable.
This guide covers what Medicare pays for, whether an over-the-counter hearing aid fits your situation, how to choose one, and what published testing found. GMG does not test hearing aids. We summarize published testing from outside reviewers, link to it, and name who said what.
📋Quick Summary
- Original Medicare doesn't cover hearing aids or exams for fitting hearing aids, per Medicare.gov.
- Part B does cover diagnostic hearing exams in some cases, and you can see an audiologist once every 12 months without a doctor's order for certain conditions.
- Over-the-counter hearing aids are sold without a prescription for adults 18 and older with perceived mild to moderate hearing loss, per the FDA.
- Among HearingTracker's 2026 picks, prices run from $331 to about $2,000 a pair.
- Check the return policy before you buy. The FDA requires it on the package, but doesn't require a warranty.
| Hearing aids (Original Medicare) | Not covered |
|---|---|
| Exams for fitting hearing aids | Not covered |
| Diagnostic hearing and balance exams (Part B) | Covered when ordered; 20% after deductible |
| Audiologist without an order | Once every 12 months, certain conditions only |
| Medicare Advantage | Some plans offer hearing benefits; check your plan |
Who it is for
- Adults with perceived mild to moderate hearing loss who want a lower-cost option without a fitting appointment, per the FDA's intended use.
Who should skip it
- Anyone with the FDA warning signs above.
- Anyone with severe or profound hearing loss.
- Anyone whose Medicare Advantage plan covers hearing aids through its own benefit.
- This is general information, not a recommendation for your situation.
What Medicare covers, and what it doesn't
Medicare.gov is direct: "Original Medicare doesn't cover hearing aids or exams for fitting hearing aids." You pay all costs for them. Part B does cover diagnostic hearing and balance exams when your doctor or other health care provider orders them to find out whether you need medical treatment. You can also see an audiologist once every 12 months without an order, but only for non-acute hearing conditions, such as gradual hearing loss, or for certain services related to surgically implanted hearing devices. After you meet the Part B deductible, you generally pay 20% of the Medicare-approved amount for these covered exams.
Some Medicare Advantage plans offer extra benefits that Original Medicare doesn't, including hearing, according to Medicare.gov. Benefits vary by plan, so contact your plan to see what's included, whether you must use a specific provider, and how much you'd pay. For background, see our article on Medicare and dental, vision and hearing coverage.
Is an over-the-counter hearing aid right for you?
The FDA says OTC hearing aids are intended for people 18 and older with perceived mild to moderate hearing loss and are not for severe or profound hearing loss. Prescription hearing aids, fitted and programmed by a hearing health professional, remain an option for more significant or complicated loss, as NIDCD notes.
Start with the low-cost options
If you have Original Medicare, a covered diagnostic exam can tell you what kind of hearing loss you have before you spend money on a device. Ask your doctor for an order, or use the once-a-year audiologist visit if your condition qualifies. If you have a Medicare Advantage plan, check its hearing benefit before buying anything. NIDCD notes that some nonprofit organizations provide financial help for hearing aids, and its Information Clearinghouse can point you to them. Your state's SHIP counselors can help you read your plan's benefits for free.
Veterans enrolled in VA health care should ask VA about hearing aid benefits.
How to choose an OTC hearing aid
Check the return policy first. The FDA requires the outside of the package to state the manufacturer's return policy, or that there is none, and it does not require a warranty, so look at both before you buy. Return windows among HearingTracker's picks range from 45 to 100 days where stated.
Check how it's controlled. The FDA requires the package to say whether you need a phone or remote to operate the device. Some models are set up through an app; if you don't use a smartphone, look for one that doesn't need one.
Check the batteries. The package must show the battery type and whether batteries are included. Some models in HearingTracker's list come in rechargeable and disposable-battery versions at different prices.
Consider support. Some OTC brands offer remote help from a hearing professional; HearingTracker names one of its picks "Best for Remote Care" and another "Best for Personalized Fitting." If you want more hands-on help, that support can matter as much as the device.
What published testing found
GMG has not tested these hearing aids. Below is what HearingTracker reported, with its labels attributed to it. HearingTracker discloses that it may earn a commission when readers buy through its links, as GMG may on some links.
HearingTracker says its lab partner, HearAdvisor, benchmarks hearing aids using a KEMAR manikin, testing speech in noise and in quiet, feedback, own voice and music streaming, and that audiologists wear-test them for comfort, handling, battery, Bluetooth, apps and care. The page was updated September 3, 2026. One pick, the Jabra Enhance Select M3, had not yet been lab or wear tested as of that update.
Price range as of September 3, 2026: $331 to $1,998 per pair, per HearingTracker
| Hearing aid | HearingTracker label | Price per pair (as of Sept 3, 2026) | Return period (as stated by HearingTracker) |
|---|---|---|---|
| ELEHEAR Beyond | Top Pick / Best Value | $449 | Not stated |
| Yeasound RIC800 | Best Overall | $549 | 100 days |
| Audicus Omni 2 | Best for Personalized Fitting | $1,998 rechargeable; $1,898 disposable | 100 days |
| Jabra Enhance Select M3 | Best for Remote Care (lab testing pending) | $1,995 | 100 days |
| ELEHEAR Delight | Best Affordable In-Ear | $331 | Not stated |
| Sennheiser All-Day Clear | Best for Everyday Comfort | $1,000 | 45 days |
| Cearvol Wave | Best Touchscreen Case | $397 | Not stated |
Prices change often and do not include coupons. Confirm the current price, return window and warranty with the seller before you buy.
- A covered Part B diagnostic hearing exam: Ask your doctor for an order. It can tell you what kind of hearing loss you have before you buy a device.
- Your Medicare Advantage plan's hearing benefit: Contact your plan to see what's included, whether you must use a specific provider, and how much you'd pay.
- Nonprofit financial help: The NIDCD Information Clearinghouse can point you to organizations that help with the cost of hearing aids.
- State Health Insurance Assistance Program (SHIP): A free counselor can help you read your plan's benefits.
See a doctor first if…
The FDA advises seeing a doctor, preferably an ear, nose and throat specialist, before buying an OTC hearing aid if you have had blood, pus or fluid coming from your ear in the past 6 months; if you get really dizzy or feel spinning or swaying; if your hearing changed suddenly in the past 6 months; or if you have worse hearing in one ear. If you can't hear speech even when the room is quiet, the FDA suggests seeing a hearing health professional. These are some of the FDA's warning signs; its page has the full list.
Common questions about otc hearing aids
- Does Medicare cover hearing aids?
- Original Medicare doesn't cover hearing aids or exams for fitting them, per Medicare.gov. Some Medicare Advantage plans offer hearing benefits, so check your plan.
- Does Medicare cover hearing tests?
- Part B covers diagnostic hearing and balance exams when your doctor orders them, and you can see an audiologist once every 12 months without an order for certain conditions. You generally pay 20% after the Part B deductible.
- Who can use over-the-counter hearing aids?
- The FDA says they're for adults 18 and older with perceived mild to moderate hearing loss, not severe or profound loss.
- How much do OTC hearing aids cost?
- Among HearingTracker's 2026 picks, prices run from $331 to $1,998 a pair. Prices change, so check the seller.
- Can I return an OTC hearing aid?
- It depends on the maker. The FDA requires the return policy on the package but doesn't require a warranty; HearingTracker lists return windows of 45 to 100 days for several picks.
- When should I see a doctor instead?
- The FDA lists warning signs, including ear drainage, dizziness, sudden hearing change in the past 6 months, or worse hearing in one ear.
✅What This Means For You
Turning 65: Original Medicare won't pay for hearing aids. If hearing matters to you, compare the hearing benefits of Medicare Advantage plans during enrollment.
Already on Medicare: Get a covered diagnostic exam first, then decide between OTC and prescription hearing aids based on what it shows.
IRMAA-affected: Higher premiums don't change this coverage gap. Compare total cost per pair, including batteries or charging cases.
Medicare Advantage enrollees: Check your plan's hearing benefit and provider network before buying a device on your own.
Last reviewed . We re-check prices and links every quarter.